Off to Hong Kong

Taylor’s Business School students do the university proud

Taylor’s Business School students swept up the first prize in the HSBC Malaysia Business Case Competition 2014 recently.

The team, comprising of 2nd and 3rd year undergraduate students; Alexis Ang Wei Zhong, Calyne Ti Teng Mei, Wong Jean-Li and Tang Renee; won RM15,000 and a chance to bring home the regional trophy when they compete at the regional HSBC Asia Pacific Business Case Competition 2014 at the University of Hong Kong in early June.

For the upcoming regional competition, the Taylor's University team will go up against 24 teams from 19 countries in the Asia Pacific region.

Taylor’s Business School (TBS) Dean, Vinitha Padmanabhan Guptan said the achievement is testament to TBS’s strive towards excellence, the potential of the students at Taylor’s Business School, and most of all, the dedication and commitment of the lecturers.

“I’d like to thank the team mentors, Dr Ken Yeoh, Ms Oh Yoke Moi and Ms Loo Yoke Mei, for their effort in guiding and building this team. Thank you for going out of your way to push the potential of our students,” she added.

Alexis Ang Wei Zhong expressed appreciation for the time and effort put in by the team mentors towards this challenge.

“Thanks to their commitment to seeing us through (which means spending time with us as we rehearse and perfect our ability to come up with solutions and also present them to the judging panel), I am becoming more confident of our ability to succeed.

“We had about 10 days to practice before the challenge (in Malaysia) and we read through as much case studies as possible to get used to deconstructing a problem and solving it,” shared Alexis.

The team of four dissected three case studies, came up with solutions and presented it to the judging panel before being declared the winner of this competition.

Alexis said that the feedback from the judges was positive and they expressed their appreciation towards the overarching vision of the team throughout the challenge.

Nottingham University Malaysia came in second while Monash University, Malaysia was the second runner up in the Malaysian competition, which is currently in its inaugural edition.