Taylor's University Receives Sole Award for Academic and Research Excellence from HAPA

In a ceremony where passion and excellence were celebrated, Taylor's University was recognised for academic and research excellence in the recent Hospitality Asia Platinum Awards (HAPA) 2013-2015, Malaysia Series Gala Dinner Night.

This prestigious accomplishment is the latest that Taylor’s, through the School of Hospitality, Tourism & Culinary Arts (TCHT) has been awarded, a testament to the TCHT’s reputation amongst the industry as a provider of quality hospitality education.

The awards ceremony, dubbed the Oscars of Hospitality, had a total of 35 award categories with more than 500 nominations from almost every state in Malaysia.

Dato' Seri Mohamed Nazri bin Tan Sri Abdul Aziz, the Minister of Tourism and Culture, was present to launch the HAPA Gala Dinner Night and voiced his appreciation for the participants from the industry in his speech.

TCHT Dean, Mr. A.R. Neethiahnanthan, expressed pride for the trust that the industry has in the School. He also shared his appreciation for the team of committed academicians and staff who are the core of the School’s success.

Established in 2002, the Hospitality Asia Platinum Awards (HAPA) has the vision to support and recognize industry excellence in Asia. The signature soiree has become a much-anticipated event, and has consistently show recognition and reward people and establishments who have shown great passion and drive for the hospitality industry.

Established in 1986, Taylor's School of Hospitality, Tourism & Culinary Arts (TCHT) was the first private institution in Malaysia dedicated to hospitality management. Today, Taylor's offers a full range of hospitality, tourism and culinary arts courses – from certificate up to PhD level, as well as a host of continuing professional education courses. The industry-acclaimed diplomas and degrees in culinary arts, hospitality management and tourism management are offered in collaboration with renowned partners – Académie de Toulouse (ADT), and University of Toulouse (UOT); both highly recognized hospitality and tourism institutions in France.

Quality and commitment are reflected in the multiple awards Taylor's, TCHT and students have received over the past 27 years, including the PATA (Pacific Asia Travel Association) Gold Award 2008 (Education & Training), Food Hotel Malaysia (FHM) 2009, Food & Hotel Asia (FHA) Culinary Challenge 2010 and Monin Cup in 2009 and 2010. The School is also the first and only university in the country to receive t the highly coveted ‘Tier 6: Outstanding’ rating in the Malaysian Ministry of Education’s Discipline-Based Rating System (D-SETARA).

TCHT was also named HAPA Hospitality School of the Year 2007/08 and awarded the HAPA Honorary Award 2010-2012.